Hampton Roads Whalers Record-Holder Berthaudin Named Elite Fan’s Choice Goaltender Of The Year

By Joshua Boyd / USPHLElite.com 


Jean Berthaudin is a shutout king in the USPHL Elite, and not just for 2023-24.

The eight blankings he put up this past season are the most in a single season, yes, but they are also tied for the most in an Elite career as well. Berthaudin was a big hit not just with his Hampton Roads Whalers teammate and coaching staff, but with Fan’s Choice voters, as well. 

He earned 6,085 of 7,996 votes in the final round, or 76.1 percent of the vote in the 1-on-1 voting round. His 643 votes in the first round of voting (where fans could vote for anyone) was also the most by far for any Elite goaltender, representing 33.5 percent of the total 1,917 first round votes. 

“I am extremely thankful for all my fans, I am blown away by how many votes I received,” said Berthaudin, a native of St-Rose-du-Lac, Man. “It’s truly an honor being able to play in front of them.”

Berthaudin went 14-7-1-1 overall this year, while facing 785 shots, eighth most in the league. He also registered a 1.74 goals against average, which ranked fourth in the league. When he registered his eighth shutouts, he tied former Whaler Ty Morton in setting the career mark for shutouts. 

He was happy to do it all for one of the most successful franchises in USPHL history, the winner of the first two USPHL Premier championships and the first USPHL Elite title – the Hampton Roads Whalers. “The atmosphere at the rink” is his favorite part of being a Whaler, he added. 

“Chilled Ponds is always packed with parents and their kids who greet you everyday before practice or pumping you up before a game, it’s great,” he added. 

Berthaudin is now set to move on to college hockey with Aquinas College in Grand Rapids, Mich., an ACHA team. 

“I’m very excited to get the opportunity to play for Aquinas. I have toured the school and I can’t wait to be there this fall,” he added. 

The USPHL Elite congratulates the inaugural Fan’s Choice Goaltender Of The Year, Jean Berthaudin.